A- A A+
New Delhi: In a huge reform push, the government is set to constitute a monetary policy committee under the Reserve Bank of India act 1934.  
The committee will have 6 members out of which 3 members will be appointed by RBI while the others will be appointed by the government. The committee will be entitled with the responsibility to formulate monetary policy of the country which is currently prepared by the RBI governor. 
This announcement comes a week after RBI governor Raghuram Rajan’s announcement to not pursue a second term.
The failure of negotiations on his possible return had sparked fears that Mr. Rajan’s departure could put at risk the inflation targeting central banker’s gains in stabilising Asia’s third-largest economy over the past three years.
First Published | 27 June 2016 5:15 PM
Read News On:

Reserve Bank of India act 1934

Download English News App and stay updated with all Latest News. For News in English, follow us on        
Web Title: RBI reform push: Government set to establish new committee for formulating monetary policy

(Latest News in English from Newsx)