A- A A+
Los Angeles: Jackie Chan is to receive an honorary Oscar along with film editor Anne V. Coates, casting director Lynn Stalmaster and documentary filmmaker Frederick Wiseman.
The “Rush Hour” actor will pick up the Governor Award in November, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced on Thursday, reports variety.com.
“The Honorary Award was created for artists like Jackie Chan, Anne Coates, Lynn Stalmaster and Frederick Wiseman – true pioneers and legends in their crafts,” Academy President Cheryl Boone Isaacs said in a statement. 
“The board is proud to honour their extraordinary achievements,” Isaacs added.
Jackie, 62, won praise from the Academy for his “distinctive international career”, which has seen him star in, write, direct and produce movies in his native Hong Kong, as well as achieve box office success around the globe.
Meanwhile, Oscar-winning editor Coates is best known for her work on classic 1962 movie “Lawrence of Arabia”, and her 60-year career has also seen her work on films including “The Elephant Man”, “Out of Sight”, “Murder on the Orient Express” and “Erin Brockovich”.
Stalmaster has worked in over 200 movies, including “The Graduate”, “Fiddler on the Roof” and “Tootsie”. 
He also helped launch the careers of the celebrities like John Travolta, Jon Voight and the late Christopher Reeve.
The four Oscar statuettes will be presented at the Academy’s 8th Annual Governors Awards at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood and Highland Center on November 12.
First Published | 2 September 2016 1:52 PM
Read News On:

Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

Anne V. Coates

Cheryl Boone Isaacs

Christopher Reeve

Erin Brockovich

Fiddler on the Roof

Frederick Wiseman

Governor Award

Highland Center

Lawrence of Arabia

Lynn Stalmaster

Murder on the Orient Express

Out of Sight

Ray Dolby Ballroom

Rush Hour

The Elephant Man

The Graduate


Download English News App and stay updated with all Latest News. For News in English, follow us on        
Web Title: Actor Jackie Chan to receive honorary Oscar

(Latest News in English from Newsx)