JNU row: Umar Khalid to lose a session; Kanhaiya Kumar fined Rs 10,000

| Monday, April 25, 2016 - 23:45
First Published |
Umar Khalid

New Delhi: Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU) disciplinary committee on Monday rusticated university student Umar Khalid for one semester and fined him with Rs. 20,000 for his role in a controversial protest on Kashmir which was held on the campus of the university.

The students have been rusticated for raising pro-Afzal Guru slogans during the event on February 9th.

Moreover, JNU Student’s Union president Kanhaiya Kumar was fined Rs 10,000 for his participation in the same event which sparked off protests across the country and led to a case of sedition being filed against Kanhaiya and others.

Another student Anirban Bhattacharya has been suspended till July 15th and cannot pursue any course in JNU for the next 5 years. This step by the university marks an end to Anirban's academic career in JNU. 

The University has said that these disciplinary measures are being taken for not following the university procedures and for misleading the entire university along with for misconduct and for posting objectionable posters inside the campus.

Here's a list of students who have been fined by JNU: 
1. Anirban Bhattacharya 
   He has been rusticated till 15 July, 2016 and declared out of bound from the entire JNU Campus w.e.f 25 July 2016        for a period of 5 years. He is also debared from taking admissions in any study programme of JNU during this period.
2. Mujeeb Gatoo
   He has been rusticated for two semesters (i.e., Monsoon & Winter semesters of 2016-17). His name shall stand removed from rolls of University. His readmission in the University after expiry of rustification period be subject to his conduct during this period.
3. Syed Umar Khalid
     He has been rusticated for one semester (i.e., Monsoon semester of 2016-17) alongwith a fine of Rs 20,000.
4. Ashutosh Kumar
    His hostel facility withdrawn for two semesters of 2016-17 alongwith fine of Rs 20,000.
5. Ms Komal Mohite
     Her hostel facility withdrawn with immediate effect till 21 July, 2016 alongwith a fine of Rs 20,000.
6.Kanahiya Kumar (JNUSU President, AISF)
    He has been fined Rs 10,000.
7.Saurabh Kumar Sharma (Joint Secretary JNUSU, ABVP) 
    He has been fined Rs 10,000.
8. Rama Naga (General  Secretary JNUSU, AISA)
      He has been fined Rs 20,000.
9. Aanant Prakash Narayan
    He has been fined Rs 20,000.
10. Reyazul Haque
     He has been fined Rs 20,000.
11. Ms Chintu Kumari
      She has been fined Rs 20,000.
12. Ms Shweta Raj
      She has been fined Rs 20,000.
13. Ms Gargi Adhikari
      She has been fined Rs 20,000.
14. Ms Aishwarya Adhikari
      She has been fined  Rs 20,000.
15. Ms Aswathi A Nair
      She has been fined Rs 20,000.
16. Ms Anwesha Chakraborty
      She has been fined Rs 20,000.
17. Ms Rubina Saife
      She has been fined Rs 20,000. 


Download English News App and stay updated with all Latest News.
For News in English, follow us on Google+, Twitter and on Facebook.

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.