Parliament: Rajya Sabha adjourned sine die

| Friday, May 13, 2016 - 18:51
First Published |
Parliament: PM Modi addresses retiring members in Rajya Sabha

New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi gave a farewell speech for the retiring members in the Rajya Sabha. Rajya Sabha will see 53 members retiring on Friday. Congress, with 65 seats, will be the biggest loser with 16 members retiring today.

The Prime Minister in his address to the retiring members said, "I wish the GST would have been passed during this tenure in Rajya Sabha," Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) supremo Mayawati also echoed a similar tone and said that her party would support it in the next Parliament session.

The BSP chief's statement raised speculation ahead of the 2017 Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections where talks of alliances have already gained momentum.

03:24 pm: Rajya Sabha adjourned sine die

01:15 pm: Rajya Sabha adjourned till 2:30 pm after members of the house bid adieu to the retiring members through their farewell speeches.

11:48 am: Tapan Kumar Sen CPI (M), West Bengal extends his feelings to the retiring members.

11:42 am: BSP leader Mayawati says, "GST should have been passed in this session". She asserts," Please bring it again in the next session and we will definitely support it".

11:30 am: Sharad Yadav JD (U) Bihar and  Trinamool Congress MP Sukhendu Sekhar extend their wishes to the retiring members.

11.20 a.m: Congress MP Anand Sharma says this house has always worked for betterment of the nation. A lot of work has been done by the retiring members. He expressed disappointment on the slugfest over GST bill.

11:12 am: We were able to get Insurance bill, bankruptcy & insolvency bill and bill operationalising the Land Boundary Agreement between India and Bangladesh passed in this session, says PM Modi

11.10 a.m: "I wish the GST would have been passed during this tenure in Rajya Sabha," says PM Modi.

11.07 a.m: Prime Minister Narendra Modi conveys his wishes to the retiring members of Rajya Sabha in a farewell speech.


11:05 a.m: Rajya Sabha proceedings begin for the day.

Download English News App and stay updated with all Latest News.
For News in English, follow us on Google+, Twitter and on Facebook.

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.