PM Modi and Sheikh Hasina on Mamata Banerjee's oath guest list

| Saturday, May 21, 2016 - 16:35
First Published |
Mamata Mujharjee, Narendra Modi, Bangladesh PM

Among others on the guest list are Akhilesh Yadav, Arvind Kejriwal and Lalu Prasad Yadav

Kolkata: Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his Bangladeshi and Bhutanese counterparts are among several high profile personalities to be invited for Mamata Banerjee's swearing-in here as West Bengal chief minister for a second term on May 27.
Among others on the guest list are Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav, his Delhi counterpart Arvind Kejriwal and Rashtriya Janata Dal chief Lalu Prasad Yadav. 
"A host of national and international leaders, including Modi and his Bangladheshi counterpart Sheikh Hasina and Bhutanese leader Tshering Tobgay are being invited for the ceremony," a Trinamool Congress leader said on Saturday.
Trinamool Congress supremo Banerjee, who on Friday staked claim to form the government in the state for the second term, said that unlike in 2011 when the oath-taking venue was the Raj Bhavan, the swearing in this time will be held at the Red Road (Indira Gandhi Sarani). 
"The oath taking ceremony will be held at the Red Road so that more people can witness it," Banerjee said on Friday. 
The Trinamool swept to power, bagging 211 of the 294 assembly seats.

Download English News App and stay updated with all Latest News.
For News in English, follow us on Google+, Twitter and on Facebook.

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.