A- A A+

New Delhi: The annual Ramon Magsaysay Award has disclosed the names of two Indian personalities who will be conferred with the honorary award for the year 2016.

Human rights activist Bezwada Wilson and South Indian classical musician TM Krishna have won the “greatness of spirit in selfless service to the peoples of Asia” award.

Borne to a humble Dalit family in Karanataka, Bezwada Wilson is a celebrated personality for his effort towards “asserting the inalienable right to a life of human dignity”.

TM Krishna has been conferred the Magsaysay Award for “ensuring social inclusiveness in culture”.

The Ramon Magsaysay Award is an annual award established to perpetuate former Philippine President Ramon Magsaysay’s example of integrity in governance, courageous service to the people, and pragmatic idealism within a democratic society.

First Published | 27 July 2016 1:56 PM
Read News On:

Bezwada Wilson

Ramon Magsaysay Award

TM Krishna

Download English News App and stay updated with all Latest News. For News in English, follow us on        
Web Title: Ramon Magsaysay Award 2016: TM Krishna, Bezwada Wilson win from India

(Latest News in English from Newsx)