After a record turnover of 64% in the first phase of polling, Uttar Pradesh on Wednesday voted for 67 assembly constituencies in the second of the seven-phase election.

As the poll campaign simmered down on Monday, the fate of 720 candidates was sealed by the voters in the Western Uttar Pradesh region today.

Security arrangements were placed in strategic areas to ensure fair and trouble-free voting across poll-bound areas in the state.

Catch all the LIVE updates here:

07:42 pm | EC records 66.5% voting till 5PM; counting continues. 

06:55 pm | 65.5% voting was recorded in Uttar Pradesh till 5PM and the counting is still on, says Election Commission.


05:00 pm | 60% polling in the second phase of Uttar Pradesh polls

03:56 pm | 54.27% voter turnout till 3 PM in Uttar Pradesh


03:27 pm | While addressing a rally in Barabanki UP, BSP supremo said that just like the first phase BSP has an edge over the other parties in the second phase also.



03:18 pm |  Addressing a rally in Kannauj, Uttar Pradesh, PM Modi said that earlier bribes were taken for class III & IV jobs; we have done away with the interview processes and this has put a check on corruption.


02:42 pm | Addressing a rally in Kannauj, Uttar Pradesh, PM Modi targets Akhilesh Yadav and  SP-Congress alliance. Does Akhilesh ji even recall that Congress attacked Mulayam Singh ji back in 1984? And he has allied with them only

02:25 pm | 42% voter turnout recorded in Uttar Pradesh till 1 PM.

02:15 pm | Voter turnout recorded till 1 pm in 2nd phase of polling in Uttar Pradesh

01:30 pm | Drone camera used at a polling booth in Budaun for surveillance.

01:00 pm | I am getting information that cycle (SP), is doing very well in the second phase of voting in Uttar Pradesh


12:45 pm | 115-year-old Zurriyat Hussain Kazmi, maternal grandfather of Union Min Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, casts his vote in Bareilly.


12:05 pm | 24.14% voter turnout recorded till 11 am in the second phase of Uttar Pradesh elections.


11:02 am |  Union Minister Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi standing in the queue to cast his vote in Rampur.


10:25 am | Renowned Urdu poet Wasim Barelvi casts his vote at polling booth no. 24 in Bareilly with his wife.


09:50 am | 10.75% voter turnout recorded in Uttar Pradesh till 9 AM.

09:42 am | Polling underway at booth number 303 in Rampur. Samajwadi Party’s Mohd Azam Khan, BJP’s Shiv B Saxena & BSP’s Dr TA Khan contesting election from here.


09:20 am | A total of 11% voter turnout recorded in Moradabad till 9 AM.

08:25 am | Former Union Min Jitin Prasada casts his vote at polling booth no. 162 at Shahjahanpur, Dr Sudama Prasad Bal Vidya Mandir.

08:12 am | Voting resumes in Moradabad polling booth no. 265.


07:42 am | People queue up to cast vote in Sambhal


07:32 am | Voting delayed in Moradabad polling booth no. 265. Voters complaining about the delay.

07:29 am | Reports of glitch in EVM machine halts the voting process at Badaun Sadar constituency’s S.K.Inter College-booth no. 183.

07:22 am | Technical snag in polling booth no. 265 in Moradabad. Voting delayed.


07:18 am | A differently abled woman arrives to cast her vote in Bijnor.

07:10 am | People queue up early morning in Moradabad to cast their votes.


07:05 am | Security arrangements in place at a polling booth in Moradabad.

07:00 am | Polling for 67 assembly constituencies of UttarPradesh in the second of seven phases, set to take place today.

First Published | 15 February 2017 8:29 AM
Download English News App and stay updated with all Latest News. For News in English, follow us on