A- A A+

There would be no change in the three-member committee set up to select Information Commissioners in Madhya Pradesh, Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan said on Monday in the wake of objections by Leader of Opposition Ajay Singh over the inclusion of Minister Narottam Mishra in the panel.

Chouhan said Public Relations Minister Mishra’s unseating by the Election Commission in June had since been stayed by the High Court. The Chief Minister and Ajay Singh are members of the selection committee.

On June 24, the EC had disqualified Mishra for three years for filing wrong accounts of election expenditure, rendering his election from Datia assembly constituency void.

Congress leader Ajay Singh had written to the Chief Minister on Wednesday raising objection to the inclusion of Mishra on the selection committee, wondering how a person disqualified by the EC could be part of the process to select persons for statutory posts.

He had also said that he would be unable to attend the committee meetings in the presence of Mishra.

Chouhan replied that there was no bar on making Mishra a member of such a committee.

First Published | 11 September 2017 4:28 PM
Read News On:

Congress leader Ajay Singh

Information Commissioners

selection of Information Commissioners

Download English News App and stay updated with all Latest News. For News in English, follow us on        
Web Title: No change in panel to select Information Commissioner: MP CM Shivraj Singh Chouhan

(Latest News in English from Newsx)