Delhi Assembly Election Results: Three BJP leaders who saved party from Congress-like embarrassment

| Wednesday, February 11, 2015 - 03:22
First Published |
Delhi poll

NEW DELHI: On the historic win of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) in Delhi on the counting day, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Congress suffered a humiliating defeat.

While Congress scored a big zero, BJP was saved by similar embarrassment with the help of its three members who won in their constituencies; namely - Jagdish PradhanVijender Kumar and Om Prakash Sharma from Mustafabad,Rohini and Vishwas Nagar correspondingly.

Pradhan routed the Congress by 6,031 votes, whereas Kumar and Sharma defeated the Aam Aadmi Party challenge with margins of 5,367 and 10,158 votes respectively.

On the other hand, in a clean sweep for AAPArvind Kejriwal’s party boasts of 67 seats in total out of 70 seats.

While we talk about the ‘AAP tsunami’ kicking of the ‘Modi wave’ in Delhi, it is to be noted that Prime Minister Narendra Modi had campaigned for its candidates in two of the winning seats of BJP (Rohini and Vishwas Nagar).

Download English News App and stay updated with all Latest News.
For News in English, follow us on Google+, Twitter and on Facebook.

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.