The BJP versus Mahagatbandhan war intensifies in Bihar. The BJP has slammed the Nitish Kumar government for withdrawing a case against RJD chief Lalu Prasad, his two minister-sons, and the others for vandalism and stopping government officials during an RJD-sponsored ‘bandh’ last year. They have asked whether the step was not tantamount to defamation of the Patna High Court, which is hearing the matter.
In the assembly elections in Bihar last year, the RJD and JD(U) ended up winning 80 and 71 seats each and the Congress 27. The BJP was the winner in 53 constituencies, and the three allies — the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP), the Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) and the Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP) — could together bag only five seats.