Vizag T20I: Ashwin spins Sri Lanka out of T20I series

| Monday, February 15, 2016 - 10:51
First Published |
MS Dhoni
Visakhapatnam:  India defeated Sri Lanka by 9 wickets to win their third and final T20 International match at the Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium here on Sunday. 
India clinched the series 2-1, this time getting Sri Lanka out for a paltry 82 runs. 
Off-spinner Ashwin who bagged 4/4 in this match went on to not only become the Man of the Match but also the Man of the Series.
India playing their final match didn't make any change in its lineup while Sri lanka made three changes—Dilhara Fernando, Asela Gunaratne and Niroshan Dickwella.
Dasun Shanaka was the highest scorer for Sri Lanka who managed a mere 19 runs before Ravindra Jadeja bowled him out. Sri Lanka were bowled out in the 18th over of their allotted 20 overs.
Earlier India won the toss and chose to field. Skipper Dhoni's decision was justified by off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin who opened the bowling and struck twice in the very first over.
Ashwin's supreme display was backed by his team-mates as pacers Asish Nehra (1/17), Jasprt Bumrah (1/10), left-arm spinner Ravindra Jadeja (1/6) and part-timer Suresh Raina (2/11) all contributed to the Sri Lankan debacle.
Opener Niroshan Dickwella (1), in for the injured Chamara Kapugedera, was stumped on the third ball and his experienced partner Tillakaratne Dilshan (1) was trapped leg before wicket off the sixth ball to cap off a dream over by Ashwin.
Sri Lanka got rattled by the poor start, and their troubles worsened when skipper Dinesh Chandimal (8) skied an aggressive shot off Ashwin to be caught at mid-off to leave the visitors reeling at 12/3 in the third over.
Ashwin continued to torment the Lankans, picking up his and the team's fourth wicket shortly thereafter, dismissing debutant Asela Gunaratne (4). Sri Lanka were tottering at 20/4 inside five overs.
Pacer Nehra joined in the act, clean bowling Milinda Siriwardana (4) in the next over.
At 21/5 in the sixth over, Sri lanka were looking down the barrel. They struggled to score freely and kept losing wickets at regular intervals with Seekkuge Prasanna getting run out (9) and Dasun Shanaka (19) bowled by Jadeja.
From there on, it was always going to be difficult for the Islanders to post a decent total, and they ultimately folded for 82.
India comfortably got to the winning total losing only the wicket of Rohit Sharma. Shikhar Dhawan remained unbeaten at 46 while Ajinkya Rahane was unbeaten on 22 as India chased down the required 83 runs in just 13.5 overs to win the series 2-1.
Download English News App and stay updated with all Latest News.
For News in English, follow us on Google+, Twitter and on Facebook.

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.