A- A A+

Mumbai: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), on Sunday, elected Anurag Thakur as the new president of the board, after Shashank Manohar quit the position to take up the ICC chief’s job after just seven months into his tenure.

Thakur, who served as the BCCI secretary, was elected unopposed in the board’s Special General Meeting (SGM). Ajay Shirke, the MCA president, was elected unanimously as Thakur’s replacement for the position of the BCCI secretary.

(Also read: After being appointed as BCCI president, Anurag Thakur promises transparency)

Thakur, after resigning as the secretary of the board, got the signatures of all six east zone units in his BCCI presidential nomination form as he completed the formalities in presence of former India captain and CAB president Sourav Ganguly, BCCI’s GM (Game Development) Ratnakar Shetty and Ajay Shirke.

The 41-year-old BJP MP comes in at a time when the board is in deep waters over the Supreme Court’s orders to implement the Justice R M Lodha Committee’s recommendations for sweeping reforms.

First Published | 22 May 2016 10:28 AM
Read News On:

honorary secretary

youngest bcci president

Download English News App and stay updated with all Latest News. For News in English, follow us on        
Web Title: BCCI elects Anurag Thakur as BCCI president, Ajay Shirke as secretary

(Latest News in English from Newsx)