National Sports Day — President Mukherjee honours top sportspersons

| Monday, August 29, 2016 - 15:49
First Published |
Pranab Mukherjee, Khel Ratna, Dronacharya award, Arjuna Award, PV Sindu, Sakshi Malik, Dipa Karmakar, Jitu Rai, National Sports Day, Khel Ratna 2016, Arjuna Awards 2016, Dronacharya 2016

New Delhi: President Pranab Mukherjee, on Monday honoured top sports persons at Rashtrapati Bhawan. Rio stars shuttler PV Sindhu, wrestler Sakshi Malik, gymnast Dipa Karmakar, and shooter Jitu Rai were awarded with the Khel Ratna Award. 

Six coaches including Virat Kohli and Ishant Sharma's coach, Raj Kumar Sharma was awarded the Dronacharya Award along with Bishweshwar Nandi, the coach of Dipa Karmakar. 
15 other sportspersons from different sports were awarded the Arjuna Award — athlete Lalita Shivaji Babar, footballer Subrata Paul, hockey player Raghunath VR. Wrestler Vinesh Phogat conferred with Arjuna Award. 

On the occasion of National Sports Day, Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated all sports lovers across India and expressed hope that sports and sportsmanship will always shine in society.

Here's the list of Arjuna Award 2016: 
Rajat Chauhan- Archery
Lalita Babar- Atletics
Saurav Kothari- Billiards and Snooker
Shiva Thapa- Boxing
Ajinkya Rahane- Cricket
Rani- Hockey
Subrata Paul- Football
VR Raghunath- Hockey
Gurpreet Singh- Shooting
Apurvi Chandela- Shooting
Soumyajit Ghosh- Table tennis
Vinesh Poghat- Wrestling
Amit Kumar- Wrestling
Sandeep Singh Mann- Para- Athletics
Virendra Singh- Wrestling (deaf)



Download English News App and stay updated with all Latest News.
For News in English, follow us on        



Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.