A- A A+
Kolkata: India took a weighty 339-run lead in the second innings thanks to Rohit Sharma’s sublime 82 against New Zealand in the second cricket Test at the Eden Gardens here on Sunday.
After bowling out New Zealand for 204 in their first innings, India reached 227/8 to gain a lead of 339 runs at the end of the third day’s play.
India struggled to build on the 112-run first innings lead. Virat Kohli shone with a 45 before Rohit and Wriddhiman Saha (39 not out) put on a 103-run stand for the seventh wicket.    
The following is the scoreboard at stumps on Day Three of the second Test between India and New Zealand at the Eden Gardens here on Saturday.
India first innings 316
New Zealand first innings (overnight 128/7):
Martin Guptill b Bhuvneshwar Kumar 13
Tom Latham lbw Mohammed Shami 1
Henry Nicolls b Bhuvneshwar Kumar 1
Ross Taylor c Murali Vijay b Bhuvneshwar Kumar 36
Luke Ronchi lbw Jadeja 35
Mitchell Santner lbw b Bhuvneshwar Kumar 11
B.J. Watling lbw Mohammed Shami 25
Matt Henry b Bhuvneshwar Kumar 0
Jeetan Patel c Mohammed Shami b Ravichandran Ashwin 47
Neil Wagner lbw Mohammed Shami 10
Trent Boult not out 6
Extras (b9, lb 4, w 5) 19
Total (all out, 53 overs) 204
Fall of wickets: 1-10 (Latham, 1.5 ov), 2-18 (Guptill, 2.4 ov), 3-23 (Nicholls, 6.4 ov), 4-85 (Ronchi, 24.4 ov), 5-104 (Taylor, 28.1), 6-122 (Santner, 32.1), 7-122 (Henry, 32.2), 8-182 (Patel, 47.1 ov), 9-187 (Watling, 50.2 ov), 10-204 (Wagner, 52.6 ov)
Bhuvneshwar Kumar 15-2-48-5
Mohammed Shami 18-1-70-3
Ravindra Jadeja 12-4-40-1
Ravichandran Ashwin 8-3-33-1
India second innings:
Murali Vijay c Martin Guptill b Matt Henry 7
Shikhar Dhawan lbw Trent Boult 17
Cheteshwar Pujara lbw Matt Henry 4
Virat Kohli lbw Trent Boult 45
Ajinkya Rahane c Trent Boult b Matt Henry 1
Rohit Sharma c Luke Ronchi b Mitchell Santner 82
Ravichandran Ashwin lbw Mitchell Santner 5
Wriddhiman Saha batting 39
Ravindra Jadeja c substitute (J.D.S. Neesham) b Santner 6
Bhuvneshwar Kumar batting 8
Extras (b 10, lb 1, w 2) 13
Total (8 wkts, 63.2 overs)
Fall of wickets 1-12 (Vijay, 5.4 ov), 2-24 (Pujara, 7.5 ov), 3-34 (Dhawan, 10.5 ov), 4-43 (Rahane, 13.1 ov), 5-91 (Kohli, 23.6 ov), 6-106 (Ashwin, 30.3 ov), 7-209 (Sharma, 60.2 ov), 8-215 (Jadeja, 60.6 ov)
Trent Boult 14-5-28-2
Matt Henry 15.2-2-44-3
Neil Wagner 13-2-43-0
Jeetan Patel 8-0-50-0
Mitchell Santner 13-1-51-3


First Published | 2 October 2016 7:02 PM
Download English News App and stay updated with all Latest News. For News in English, follow us on        
Web Title: Second Cricket Test: India lead by 339 runs against New Zealand

(Latest News in English from Newsx)