Manipur chief minister N Biren Singh clears floor test with 33 MLAs

By NewsX Bureau | Updated: 20 March 2017 2:10 PM

CM N Biren Singh-led Bharatiya Janata Party government on Monday cleared the floor test with the support of 33 MLAs.

In the 60-seat Assembly, 33 MLAs voted in favour of N Biren Singh and 28 others opposed .

N Biren Singh was sworn-in as the first Chief Minister of Manipur last week after a power battle between Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) and Congress to form government in Manipur.

The Congress accused the Governor Najma Heptullah of not being invited to form the government despite being the single largest party in the state that ruled the state for 15 years.

The BJP government had also lodged all its legislators in a hotel in Guwahati with an Independent MLA and a Trinamool Congress lawmaker since Thursday.

First Published | 20 March 2017 2:10 PM
Download English News App and stay updated with all Latest News.
For News in English, follow us on        

From The Web

ads by 3rd party


More Videos