World congratulates Tunisian National Dialogue Quartet for winning 2015 Nobel Peace Prize

| Friday, October 9, 2015 - 21:07
First Published |
2015 Nobel Prize goes to Tunisian quartet

2015 Nobel Prize goes to Tunisian quartet

The Nobel Peace Prize for 2015 has been awarded to the Tunisian National Dialogue Quartet for its “decisive contribution to the building of a pluralistic democracy,” following the Jasmine revolution, Nobel Committee Chairman Kaci Kullman Five, said while announcing the prize.
The Quartet was among 273 contenders, of which two highly favoured eminent personalities were Angela Merkel and Pope Francis.
Four organisations that form the Tunisian Quartet are: the Tunisian General Labour Union, the Tunisian Confederation of Industry, Trade and Handicrafts, the Tunisian Human Rights League, and the Tunisian Order of Lawyers.
This quartet was set up in 2013 as an attempt to build a pluralistic democracy at a time when the democratisation process in Tunisia was in danger of collapsing because of massive protests and assassinations.  
Committee Chairman, Kaci Kullmann Five said that the Nobel committee hoped the prize would "contribute towards safeguarding democracy in Tunisia and be an inspiration to all those who seek to promote peace and democracy in the Middle East, North Africa and the rest of the world".
Download English News App and stay updated with all Latest News.
For News in English, follow us on Google+, Twitter and on Facebook.

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.