Saturday, December 2, 2023

Amitabh Kant chairs inter-ministerial meeting to review G20 preparations

- Advertisement -

Amitabh Kant, the G20 Sherpa for India, presided over an inter-ministerial meeting on Saturday with the heads of all the working groups that would be part of the country’s next G20 presidency. The discussion covered both substantive and logistical elements of the preparations.

“Excellent conversation with working group chairmen about India’s future G20 presidency. Various preparation-related topics, such as logistical and substantive ones, were discussed.

There is a lot of energy in the GoI & States to make the #G20 in 2023 a huge success for India, Kant tweeted. On Twitter, the Ministry of External Affairs also said, “G20 preparations are in full swing! In preparation for India’s impending G20 Presidency, G20 Sherpa @amitabhk87 presided over an inter-ministerial meeting today with the heads of all Working Groups. held discussions about the presidency’s operational and substantive characteristics.

This year, Indonesia will host the G20 Summit in Bali during the month of November. India will take over for Indonesia the next year.

The G20 will be presided over by India from December 1, 2022, to November 30, 2023.

The G-20 presidency will be a perfect opportunity for the nation to address long-standing injustices against poor nations, particularly in the areas of agricultural and food subsidies, SBI.

Every year, different member countries take turns holding the G20 presidency. The current president’s nation, along with the outgoing and incoming presidents, makes up the “Troika.”

The troika would include three rising economies and developing nations for the first time, giving them a stronger voice.

India is now a member of the G20 Troika, which also includes Indonesia, Italy, and the upcoming G20 presidency.

An international organisation comprising the biggest established and emerging economies in the world, the Group of Twenty. Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, South Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, United Kingdom, and the United States are among the 19 nations that make up this region, in addition to the European Union (EU).

Read more: BJP fact-finding team submits reports on violence during Nabanna Chalo protest, recommends CBI probe

Latest news

Related news