Chief Minister of Karnataka HD Kumaraswamy won the floor test on Friday in Karnataka assembly. The Congress-JDS alliance passed the floor test with support of 116 MLAs. On March 23, HD Kumaraswamy took oath as Chief Minister of Karnataka in the presence of opposition leaders namely Congress President Rahul Gandhi, AICC former chief Sonia Gandhi, BSP supremo Mayawati, Andhra Pradesh CM Chandrababu Naidu, Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav and other political heavy weights from across the country.

On May 19, BJP leader BS Yeddyurappa resigned as the Chief Minister of Karnataka after delivering an emotional speech ahead of the floor test. The BJP emerged as the single largest party with 104 seats in 224 seats Assembly. Earlier, Kumaraswamy said he will prove the majority within 24 hours of oath taking ceremony. However, he said BJP would try hard to bring down his government using illegal practices as they did in 2008. While the Congress has 78 MLAs, Kumaraswamy’s JD(S) has 36, and BSP 1. The alliance has also claimed support of the lone KPJP MLA and an independent. The political drama in Karnataka would end today if JDS-Congress combine with the support of BSP and independent candidate sail through the trust vote.

Senior Congress leader D Shivakumar, who kept the Congress flock together during poaching attempts by BJP, seems to be unhappy with the party over deputy chief minister’s post credited to Dalit leader and KPCC chief G Parameshwara. Shivakumar earlier said “Is it the same for those who win one seat and those who win the state? I have not come to politics to take sanyas. I will play chess not football.”

Karnataka floor test highlights:

01:54pm: Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy has moved the vote of confidence in the House. 

01: 10pm: CM Kumaraswamy in his first speech in the assembly, ahead of the trust vote, mentioned how well Ramesh Kumar conducted proceedings in the House during his earlier tenure as speaker and earned the respect of all the MLAs in those 5 years. 

12: 46pm: “We withdrew (nomination of BJP candidate) as we wanted the election to be unanimous in order to maintain the dignity of the Speaker’s post,” said BJP’s BS Yeddyurappa on S Suresh Kumar’s backing out from Speaker’s nomination. 

12:22pm: According to sources, the BJP leader S Suresh Kumar, who had filed his nomination for the Speaker’s post has backed out moments before the floors step. Congress’ Kumar Ramesh elected as Speaker. 

12: 20pm: The newly formed alliance between Congress and JDS will prove its majority in the Karnataka Assembly. Several leaders have reached Vidhan Soudha ahead of the floor test, including Congress’ Siddaramaiah & BJP’s BS Yeddyurappa. 

12:03pm: Congress Legislative Party meeting underway in Vidhana Soudha in Bengaluru. ANI reported that Senior leader DK Shivakumar and MLA Anand Singh also present. 

11: 00am: Congress MLAs reach Vidhana Soudha in Bengaluru ahead of floor test and election of assembly speaker.