Manoj Tiwari to contest from North East Delhi, Harsh Vardhan from Chandni Chowk: The BJP on Sunday released another list of candidates for the 17th Lok Sabha elections. The saffron party named seven candidates from Delhi, Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh and Punjab. The ruling party has fielded sitting parliamentarian Manoj Tiwari from North East Delhi and Harsh Vardhan from Delhi’s Chandni Chowk. The BJP has given the ticket to Pravesh Verma from West Delhi and Ramesh Bidhuri from South Delhi.

The party is yet to announce the candidates for three other Lok Sabha seats. The national capital would go to polls on May 12 in a single phase. In 2014, the BJP swept all the seven seats in Delhi, defeating Congress and Aam Admi Party.

Congress has not announced the names of candidates for Delhi’s seven Lok Sabha seats. The party is likely to announce the same on Monday. The grand old party was in talks with AAP for pre-poll alliance in Delhi and both the parties held several meeting with each other. But they failed to end the stalemate.

Congress was ready to give four seats to AAP and field its candidates on three seats. But the AAP wanted to stitch an alliance in Haryana and Punjab along with Delhi. PC Chacko of Congress said that AAP’s proposed alliance in Haryana and Punjab was unacceptable.

The party is likely to field former Chief Minister and Delhi Congress head Sheila Dikshit from East Delhi. 

Recently, Congress president Rahul Gandhi accused Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal of making U-turn over the alliance. He said that time is running out and the ball is in the court of Kejriwal.

Meanwhile, BJP has also named one each candidate for Madhya Pradesh, Punjab and Uttar Pradesh. The BJP has replaced Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan from Indore and filed Shankar Lalwani. Union Minister Hardeep Singh Puri has been nominated from Amritsar. From Uttar Pradesh’s Ghosi seat, the BJP has fielded sitting MP Harinarayan Rajbhar.