IPL 2019 KKR vs RR: All thanks to Jofra Archer and Riyan Parag who led their team to fourth victory in the Vivo IPL 2019 at Eden Gardens. KKR skipper Dinesh Karthik 50-ball 97 were in vain as the team failed to defend 175. This was Kolkata’s fifth consecutive loss in thr Vivo IPL 2019.

Chasing down the target, openers Ajiyanka Rahane and Sanju Samson gave a decent start to Rajasthan by scoring 53 runs. Rahane (34) was dismissed in the sixth over and Samson (22) in the next over. After both the openers were dismissed, skipper Steven Smith (2) also joined them in the pavilion.

The 2008 IPL champions scored 78 runs in the 10 overs. Ben Stokes (11) was dismissed on the first delivery of 11th over and Stuart Binny (11) also departed early.

The team needed 54 off 30 balls with five wickets in hand and Riyan Parag and Shreyas Gopal on the crease. Gopal lost his wicket in the 16th over. He made quick 18 off 9 balls. After that Jofra Archer joined Parag. Both played few shots and took down the required runs. In the last three over, Rajasthan needed 31 runs. Though Parag lost wicket for 47 off 31 in the penultimate over but it was too late then. KKR bowlers could not stop Archer on the other side, who fought till the end. Rajasthan chased down the score with four balls to spare.

For Kolkata, Piyush Chawala took three wicket, Sunil Nadine two, Prasidh Krishna and Andre Russell took one each.

Batting first, Kolkata got a huge blow with Chris Lynn losing his wicket for none. He was dismissed by Varun Aaron in the very first over. The second wicket of Shubman Gill fell in the fifth over for 31 runs. It was followed by third dismissal of Nitish Rana in the ninth over for 42 runs. The average was around 5 in the ninth and it looked Kolkata would not touch 140. But after skipper Dinesh Karthik came to the crease, he changed the scenario of the game. He smashed an unbeaten 97 off 50 balls with mine sixes and seven boundaries. His 97 knock helped Kolkata to post 175 on the scoreboard.


Without Karthik, no other Kolkata player crossed 22-run mark. They include Rana (21), Gill (14), Sunil Narne (11), Andre Russell scored (14), Carlos Brathwaite (5) and Rinku Singh (3*).

For Rajasthan, Varun Aaron picked two wickets and Oshane Thomas, Shreyas Gopal and Jaydev Unadkat calaimed one each.

Before today’s win, Kolkata faced four losses in a row which started with their defeat against Sunrisers Hyderabad on April 21.