Sunday, December 3, 2023

Binny to replace Ganguly as BCCI President

- Advertisement -

Roger Binny, the 1983 World Cup champion for India, will succeed Sourav Ganguly as BCCI President at the Board’s annual meeting on October 18. Ganguly held the role for three years.

For a second time in a row, Jay Shah will remain the BCCI secretary. Shah will take Ganguly’s place as India’s representative on the ICC Board, which has tremendous power.

Rajeev Shukla, who will stay on as vice president, is the lone congressman in the BCCI administration. Arun Singh Dhumal, the younger brother of Anurag Thakur, who is the sports minister, will now lead the IPL. He will take Brijesh Patel’s place.

Ashish Shelar, a prominent BJP leader in Maharashtra, will take on the role of treasurer instead of president of the Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA). With the backing of the Sharad Pawar faction, he was scheduled to accept the position.

Devajit Saikia, a trusted assistant of Himanta Biswa Sarma, the chief minister of Assam, will take over for Jayesh George as the new joint secretary.

The BCCI has not yet made up its mind about running for ICC chairman.

According to BCCI, a powerful minister in the federal government was instrumental in determining the composition of the Board.

On October 18 during the AGM in Mumbai, Binny will formally assume leadership of the BCCI. Every candidate will be picked without opposition, hence there won’t be any elections for any positions.

One of the key players in India’s historic World Cup victory in 1983 was the medium pacer. He recorded the most wickets in that year’s premier event (18) in just eight games.

Latest news

Related news