Monday, December 4, 2023

BJP Releases Fifth List of 92 Candidates for Madhya Pradesh Assembly Polls

- Advertisement -

The latest list includes prominent names like Madhya Pradesh ministers Usha Thakur, Mahendra Singh Sisodiya, and Mousam Bisen, daughter of minister Gaurishankar Bisen. Former ministers Jayant Kumar Malaiya and Antar Singh Arya have also received tickets. Siddharth Tiwari and Sachin Birla, recent BJP entrants from Congress, are featured in the list. Notably, leaders Yoshodhara Raje Scindia, Gauri Shankar Bisen, and OPS Bhadoria, a Jyotiraditya Scindia loyalist, are not among the party’s chosen candidates.

So far, BJP has declared candidates for 228 out of 230 seats. The party is yet to announce candidates for Guna (Scheduled Caste) and Vidisha seats. The previous four lists included a total of 136 candidates – 39 in the first and second lists, one in the third, and 57 in the fourth list. The second list featured three Union Ministers and four MPs.

Union Ministers Narendra Singh Tomar and Prahlad Singh Patel will contest from the Dimani and Narsinghpur constituencies respectively. Union Minister Faggan Singh Kulaste will vie for the Niwas seat. BJP general secretary Kailash Vijayvargiya and BJP MP Rakesh Singh are set to compete from Indore-1 and Jabalpur Paschim constituencies.

The fourth list showcased 23 state cabinet ministers and Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan. Notable names included Narottam Mishra, Pradhuman Singh Tomar, Bhupendra Singh, Govind Singh Rajput, Gopal Bhargava, Rajendra Shukla, Prabhuram Choudhary, Vishwas Sarang, Tulsi Ram Silavat, Mohan Yadav, Hardeep Singh Dang, and Omprakash Sakhlecha.

Madhya Pradesh is scheduled to go to the polls on November 17, with vote counting set for December 3. In the 2018 assembly elections, Congress secured 114 seats with a vote share of 40.89%, while BJP came second with 109 seats and a vote share of 41.02%. The BJP later formed the government with Shivraj Singh Chouhan as Chief Minister after Jyotiraditya Scindia and 22 loyalist MLAs switched to the BJP in 2020.

Also Read: Israel-Hamas War: IDF Claims ‘No Humanitarian Crisis’ in Gaza Amid Evacuations
Catch all the Latest Business NewsBreaking News Events, and Latest News Updates on NewsX

Latest news

Related news