In the wake of Shiv Sena MP Ravindra Gaikwad altercation with an Air India staffer in March this year, the Civil Aviation Ministry on Friday released a no-fly list for the passengers to ensure stringent discipline and serve safety to people.

Addressing a press conference, Minister of State, Civil Aviation, Jayant Sinha said that the new rules will safeguard safety and security of the passengers.

“The motive behind the No-Fly List is safety and security of passengers, which is our priority,” he said.

Introducing the rules, Civil Aviation Secretary RN Choubey said that there will be 3 levels of unruly behaviour as per new guidelines.

Unruly behaviour categorised in three levels:

Level 1- Verbal unruly behaviour including physical gestures

Level 2- Physically unruly behaviour and sexual harassment

Level 3 – Life-threatening behaviour, damage to the aircraft

The quantum of punishment against each level:

Level 1- Ban from flying upto 03 months

Level 2- Ban from flying upto 06 months

Level 3- Ban from flying for a minimum period of 02 years or more without limit

RN Choubey also added that they can add also add the names of people to the list if approved by Ministry of Home Affairs.

The changes are necessities following the AirIndia-Gaikwad row after a video surfaced showing Shiv Sena MP assaulting airline staff on board plane.

For all the latest Business News, download NewsX App