Monday, December 4, 2023

Congress Unveils Initial List of 30 Chhattisgarh Poll Candidates; CM Baghel to Run in Patan

- Advertisement -

Congress revealed its first list of 30 candidates for the upcoming Chhattisgarh assembly elections. The election process will take place in two phases with the first phase covering 20 seats on November 7, followed by the remaining 70 seats on November 17.

The ruling party of the state has strategically nominated Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel from Patan and Deputy Chief Minister TS Singh Deo from Ambikapur to contest in the elections. The Congress has pitted Girish Devangan against BJP leader and former state chief minister Raman Singh in the Rajnandgaon constituency.

Furthermore, other prominent Congress candidates include Taradhwaj Sahu for Durg (Rural), Ravindra Choubey for Nawagarh, Yashoda Verma for Khairagarh, Vikram Mandavi for Bijapur, Lakheshwar Baghel for Bastar, Deepak Baiji for Chitrakot, and K Chavindra Karma Dantewada.

The counting of votes is scheduled for December 3, and the Model Code of Conduct has already been enforced following the announcement of the election dates. It is crucial to note that the Congress previously secured a landslide victory in the 2018 assembly polls, winning 68 out of 90 seats against the then-ruling BJP, which managed to secure only 15 seats.

Chhattisgarh, along with Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan, remains a crucial battleground for the Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). Telangana anticipates a triangular contest between the ruling Bharat Rashtra Samithi, Congress, and BJP. The BJP is determined to reclaim power from the Congress-led state, as this could potentially set the tone for the approaching 2024 Lok Sabha polls.

Also Read: Operation Ajay: Fourth Israel Flight Lands in Delhi with 274 Indians
Catch all the Latest Business NewsBreaking News Events, and Latest News Updates on NewsX

Latest news

Related news