Congress wins Karnataka with absolute majority

13 May, 2023 | Anupam Shrivastav

Absolute Majority Top News

When counting for the seats in the tightly fought election started at morning, Congress had a clear lead which later turned into absolute majority.

Congress won an absolute majority in Karnataka on Saturday with the party crossing the halfway mark of 113 seats in the 224-member assembly.

Congress achieved absolute majority after crossing 114 seats

The Election Commission of India’s most recent trends shows that Congress has won 114 seats and is currently leading in 22 additional seats. The Bharatiya Janata Party has won 50 seats and is now in the lead on 14 more.

JD(S) is in the lead on three seats and has won 17. Two seats were gained by independents, while one seat each was won by Kalyana Rajya Pragathi Paksha and Sarvodaya Karnataka Paksha.

Elections were held on May 10 in the southern state, and 72.68% of eligible voters cast ballots.

When counting for the assembly seats in the tightly fought election started in the morning, Congress had a lead which later turned into an absolute majority.