Wednesday, December 6, 2023

Conrad Sangma takes oath as Chief Minister of Meghalaya

- Advertisement -

Conrad Sangma took oath as Chief Minister of Meghalaya on Tuesday in Shillong marking the beginning of his second term.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, along with Home Minister Amit Shah, attended the oath-taking ceremony.

Sangma was sworn in alongside 11 members of his ministerial council. Prestone Tynsong and Sniawbhalang Dhar, both from the NPP, took their oaths as deputy chief ministers, demonstrating the regional party’s strength in the rainbow coalition that has come to power. Alexander Laloo Hek of the BJP, Paul Lyngdoh and Kyrmen Shylla of the UDP, and Shakliar Warjri of the HSPDP all took their oaths as ministers. Governor Phagu Chauhan administered the oath of secrecy to seven other MLAs from the National People’s Party (NPP), two from the UDP, and one each from the BJP and the HSPDP as members of Sangma’s cabinet at Raj Bhavan.

In Meghalaya, the NPP-led alliance has staked a claim to form the state government with the support of 45 MLAs, including two BJP members.

Latest news

Related news