Tuesday, November 28, 2023

EC likely to announce election schedule for 2 states

- Advertisement -

The EC will hold a news conference at Vigyan Bhawan in New Delhi at 3 in the evening today. The Himachal House’s tenure ends on January 8, 2023, while the Gujarat Assembly’s mandate expires on February 18, 2023.

There are now 111 BJP and 62 Congress MLAs in the 182-seat Gujarat Assembly.

Rajiv Kumar, the chief election commissioner, and Anup Chandra Pandey, the election commissioner, visited Gujarat and Himachal last month to assess election readiness.

To elect the members of the Gujarat Legislative Assembly, the 14th election was held between December 9 and 14 of that year (MLA). Votes were tallied on December 18.

In the last election, the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) increased its vote share and won a simple majority. The BJP formed administration for the sixth time despite losing seats, maintaining a simple majority in the legislature.

According to the results announced for the whole 182-member Gujarat Assembly, the BJP won 99 seats, the Congress won 77, the NCP won one seat, while the Bhartiya Tribal Party and Independent candidate each got two and three seats.

On November 9, 2017, Himachal Pradesh held elections to choose its legislative assembly.
The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) trounced the Congress Party and gained 44 seats in the 68-member Himachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly, while Congress got just 21 seats in 2017.

The BJP now holds 45 seats in the Himachal Pradesh legislative assembly, compared to 22 for the Congress and 1 for the CPIM.

Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh are two states where The AAP hopes to gain support in the forthcoming state elections.

In Gujarat’s previous Assembly elections, AAP was unable to register its party. The party wants to grow throughout the nation after achieving a significant victory in Punjab.

In the meantime, the Congress is preparing to take on the BJP in Himachal Pradesh.

The model code of conduct will go into effect once the dates for the elections in both states are announced.

Latest news

Related news