Delhi University Students Union (DUSU) election are being held in the University Campus on Tuesday. The major parties in fray are Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) student wing Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP), Congress’s National Students Union of India (NSUI), CPI (M)’ s Students Federation of India (SFI) and CPI (ML)’ s All India Students’ Association (AISA).

The results of DUSU elections 2017 are likely to be declared on September 13. In 2016, ABVP bagged the seats of president, vice president and secretary whereas NSUI won the joint secretary post. Delhi University had also introduced NOTA last year.

Amid the University Election Delhi High Court has issued a show cause notice to all the candidates of various parties as to why action should not be taken against them for allegedly defacing public property with posters and banners.

The High Court has also asked Delhi police why was action not taken against those who defaced public property. On the other hand that they have registered 33 FIRs in this matter and the defaulters will be dealt strongly.

Currently the post holders of DUSU are Amit Tanwar, Priyanka Chabri, Ankit Sangwan, Mohit Sangwan as president, vice president, secretary and joint secretary respectively.

The Chief Election Officer (CEO) of the DUSU has appealed the students to come out and vote in large numbers.