The first Lok Sabha or the 1951 general elections was of great importance for the country as it was the first elections after Independence. The elections proved to be an opportunity for people of 21 years or older age group to take part in the democratic decisions of the country. While in West Bengal, a total number of parliamentary constituencies were 26 and total seats for these constituencies were 34 which included 19 single-seat constituencies, 12 double seat constituencies and 3 triple seat constituencies. Confused? Till the 1960s there were three types of constituencies, some sent a single member to the Lok Sabha, others sent 2 while rare few sent 3 members. West Bengal has a total electorate of 12500475 out of which 7129070 were in seat 1 and 5371405 were in Seat 2 out of which total 7613933 people voted. The voter turnout for West Bengal was 40.49%.

There was a total of 148 candidates who elected in the elections for 34 seats in 26 constituencies and 65 forfeited their deposits. Discussing in details about the candidate summary, for 26 constituencies 198 nominations were filed, out of which 17 got rejected, 33 got withdrawn from the candidates and 148 contested in the elections.

Talking about the result, Indian National Congress won the elections by winning 21 seats, followed by Communist Party of India with 5 seats, followed by Revolutionary Socialist Party and Bharatiya Jana Sangh each with 2 seats and only one seat with Hind Mazdoor Sabha.

Candidates from Congress who won the elections were Susil Ranjan Chattopadhyay from West Dinajpur constituency, Surender Mohan from Malda constituency, Kamal Krishna and Anil Kumar from Birbhum constituency, Muhammed Khuda from Murshidabad constituency, Pashupati Mandal and Jagannath Koley from Bankura constituency, Tudu Bharat Lal from Midnapore Jhargram constituency, Samanta and Satish Chandra from Tamluk constituency, Dass and Basanta Kumar from Contai constituency, Satyaban Roy from Uluberia constituency, Santosh Kumar Dutta from Howrah constituency, Mono Mohan Das and Atulla Ghose from Burdwan constituency, Jonab Abdus Sattar from Kalna Katwa constituency, Lakshmi Kanta Maitra from Nabadwip, Arun Chandra Guhu from Santipur constituency, Roy Patiram from Basirhat constituency, Das Ramananda from Barrackpore constituency, Naskar Purnendu Sekhar from Diamond Harbour constituency, Ashim Krishna Dutt from Calcutta South East constituency.

For all the latest Lok Sabha Elections 2019 News, download NewsX App