7th Lok Sabha Elections 1980 Maharashtra: Full winners list: The 1980 Indian General Elections, which were held to constitute 7th Lok Sabha saw the return of Indian national congress after 1977 Janata Party win. The elections were held in July 1980, among which 1537 candidates were in fray, contesting from a total of 288 Assembly constituencies. Out of these, 248 were general assembly seats, 18 constituencies were reserved for Scheduled Castes and 22 were reserved for Scheduled Tribes.

The Indian National Congress formed the ruling government in the state, having won the majority of the seats. During this time Abdul Rehman Antulay of the Indian National Congress remained Chief Minister from 1980 to 1982 before he was successively replaced by Babasaheb Bhosale, Vasantdada Patil and finally by Shivajirao Patil Nilangekar. Ramrao Adik was the Deputy Chief Minister of the state during this period.

During the 1980 Lok Sabha elections, there were 3.34 crore voters in Maharashtra, 56.80 per cent voting in the state. During this time, 415 candidates were standing for 48 Lok Sabha constituencies of Maharashtra. In the seventh Lok Sabha elections, Indira Gandhi’s Congress party got 53.30 votes, Janata Party 20.42 and Congress (Ars) got 11.81 per cent of the votes. The Congress government was formed at the centre and Indira Gandhi became the Prime Minister.

Number of candidates who got elected from Indian National Congress 186, Indian National Congress URS 47, Janata Party 17, Bhartiya Janata Party 14, peasants and workers party of India 9, Communist Party of India 2, Communist Party of India Marxist 2, Independents 10. 

For all the latest Lok Sabha Elections 2019 News, download NewsX App