India skipper Virat Kohli on Thursday surpassed cricket legends Sachin Tendulkar and Brian Lara’s records to score fastest 20,000 runs in the international cricket. Virat Kohli took only 416 matches to hit 20,000 runs and it includes all three formats (131 Tests, 223 ODIs and 62 T20Is). Virat Kohli has become the third Indian to achieve the milestone after Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid.

Congratulating the run-machine, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) shared a tweet and said, Mt. 20k scaled! @imVkohli becomes the quickest batsman to make 20,000 international runs. He is the third Indian after @sachin_rt and Rahul Dravid to achieve this feat.??? #TeamIndia #CWC19 #KingKohli.

Sachin Tendulkar and Brian Lara, both had reached the milestone in 453 innings, followed by former Australian skipper Ricky Ponting who did the same in 468 innings. He became the 12th batsman to this landmark and the third Indian after Tendulkar (34,357 runs) and Rahul Dravid (24,208 runs).

Virat Kohli achieved the milestone in ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 playing against Pakistan. The Delhi boy has become the 3rd captain in the history of the World Cup to register four consecutive 50-plus scores after South Africa’s Graeme Smith and Australia’s Aaron Finch.

Virat Kohli has scored 6,613 runs in Tests, besides 2263 runs in T20 Internationals.  

India squad for ICC Cricket World Cup 2019:

Virat Kohli (C), Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal, Rishabh Pant, MS Dhoni (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Hardik Pandya, KL Rahul, Mohammed Shami, Mayank Agarwal, Rohit Sharma, Kuldeep Yadav.

For all the latest ICC World Cup 2019 News, download NewsX App