Thursday, November 30, 2023

India registers record-breaking 6-wicket win over Australia; seal T20I series 2-1

- Advertisement -

At the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium on Sunday, India defeated Australia by six wickets to win the three-match T20 International series 2-1 thanks to blistering innings from Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, and Hardik Pandya.

Kohli blasted 63 off 48 balls and Suryakumar hammered 69 off 66 to lead Men in Blue to a thrilling run chase triumph. India’s attempt to chase down 187 got off to a disastrous start when they lost opener KL Rahul to delivery from Daniel Sams. The Indian team’s charge was then managed by skipper Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli, who then stepped out to bat.

Then, in an effort to relieve some of the strain, Rohit smacked one, four, and six in Josh Hazlewood’s over.

Pat Cummins dealt India a major blow by dismissing skipper Rohit, who scored 17 runs in only 14 balls, in the fourth over of the game. Daniel Sams easily caught Rohit’s simple catch on the straight down deep backward square leg despite Rohit’s attempt to play the pull shot. Both of India’s openers returned to the pavilion in less than four overs after the captain was dismissed.

After then, Suryakumar Yadav entered the game. After that, Cameron Green was called into the attack, but the pacer was helpless as Virat Kohli hit a beautiful four off the first ball of the assault.

Kohli hit one six and four fours in Hazlewood’s sixth over of the innings. After that, Suryakumar and Kohli worked together to smash Australian bowlers all over the field while stealing singles.

Adam Zampa’s spell was broken by Suryakumar’s stunning back-to-back two sixes, which brought up his fifty-first run. In 59 deliveries, Kohli and Suryakumar’s partnership of 100 runs was reached as they proceeded to terrorise Australian bowlers.

The match’s 14th over saw Suryakumar smash Hazlewood for one six and four while appearing to be in excellent form. However, his innings was cut short when he attempted to play a shot on straight to long-off and gave an easy catch to Aaron Finch, scoring 69 runs in 36 deliveries.

India required 32 runs in 18 balls, and in the 18th over, Pandya and Kohli’s combination crushed Cummins for 11 runs. Pandya displayed his superb talents in the second-to-last over, slamming a six on the opening delivery of Hazlewood’s spell.

After reaching 63 runs in 48 balls and needing 11 runs to win in the last over, Kohli sent Sams’ opening delivery for a six but was then sent back to the pavilion. Dinesh Karthik entered the batting order with 5 runs needed to win in 4 balls.

Sams threw a wide yorker, but Hardik skillfully opened the bat face and cut this one well with one hand to get it to the boundary. Hardik led his team home with a deft boundary to win the three-match T20I series against Australia.

Tim David scored 54 runs in the last overs to help Australia achieve a competitive total of 186/7. Cameron Green earlier scored 52 off 21.

Cameron Green scored 52 runs off of 21 while Tim David scored 54 runs in a scorching inning to lead Men in Yellow to a respectable total for Australia. Axar Patel took three wickets for India, while Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Harshal Patel each claimed one.

When Australia was given the opportunity to bat first, they got off to a fast start with opener Cameron Green smashing Indian bowlers all over the place. Green hit Bhuvneshwar Kumar for a huge six on the game’s second delivery, but it wasn’t enough for the Australia opener, who also slammed a stunning four and scored 12 runs in the first over of the innings.

Green, who is in excellent form, continued to wreck havoc in the second over by slamming two fours and scoring 11 runs in one. Green hit two massive sixes on Jasprit Bumrah’s delivery in the third over of the inning after smashing a four.

When Axar Patel joined the attack, he made a significant breakthrough for his team by removing Aaron Finch for 7 runs. The captain’s dismissal did not, however, put an end to Green’s havoc as he smashed back-to-back three fours and reached his 19-ball half-century in the fifth over of the match.

When Bhuvneshwar was reintroduced to the attack, the pacers provided his team a significant victory by dismissing Green. Green left the game after playing an outstanding innings of 52 in only 21 balls.

The ejection of Green allowed all-rounder Glenn Maxwell to enter the field. The team’s scoreboard was then maintained by Maxwell working with Steven Smith.

Axar Patel’s superb and quick fielding in the eighth over enabled wicketkeeper Dinesh Karthik to run out Maxwell for six runs.

The blitz by Cameron Green India reclaimed the initiative as Australia’s score read 75 for three. Then Josh Inglis stepped out to the batting crease.

After hitting 9 runs in 10 deliveries, Smith’s time at the bat was cut short when Karthik bowled Yuzvendra Chahal’s ball to him.

Tim David, a right-handed batter, was invited to bat on the crease after Smith’s dismissal. Australia’s score after 10 overs was 86 for 4. Australia appeared to be in trouble after losing four wickets as Tim David and Inglis had some problems scoring runs.

The difficulty, however, did not last long as the hitters quickly stole boundaries and increased their team’s tally above 100 runs in the 12th over.

In the 14th over, Axar Patel struck again, removing both new hitter Matthew Wade and Inglis, who had scored 24 runs in 22 deliveries. In the fourteenth over, Axar completely dismantled the middle order of the visitors, removing both Josh Inglis and Matthew Wade.

On Hardik Pandya’s pitch, Daniel Sams concluded the 16th over of the innings with a magnificent six and a four. Tim David led the charge in the second-to-last overs, smashing Bhuvneshwar for two consecutive sixes and a four while scoring 21 runs.

In the 19th over of the innings, David hit a huge six, scoring his first T20I fifty in 25 balls. Tim David’s explosive performance was subsequently put to an end by Harshal Patel, who caught him for 54 and held Australia to 186 for 7 in the 20-over contest. David adorned his knock with two fours and four sixes.

Australia defeated India, 186/7 to 187/4 (Cameron Green had 52 and Tim David had 54; Axar Patel had 3-33). (Suryakumar Yadav 69, Virat Kohli 63; Daniel Sams 2-33).

Read more: Head injury forces ace wrestler Bajrang Punia to skip National Games

Latest news

Related news