IPL 2023 Final: Reserve day awaits Chennai Super Kings vs Gujarat Titans clash

29 May, 2023 | Nishtha Gupta

csk Sports

Chennai Super Kings will take on Gujarat Titans in IPL 2023 finals on reserve day today as rain spoiled the final match day on Sunday.

For the first time in IPL’s history, the final has been forced to reserve day. Defending champions Gujarat Titans were all set to take on four-time champions Chennai Super Kings on Sunday at Narendra Modi stadium in Ahmedabad when rain played a spoilsport resulting in stumps without a ball being bowled. 

It rained heavily throughout and a five-over game was still expected only if the game had begun at 12:06 am. Today will be the final of IPL 2023 at the same venue where BCCI has asked the audience to use the same physical tickets issued on Sunday to enter the stadium on Monday evening.  

CSK sailed into the finals after finishing second on the points table and beating GT in Qualifier 1 in Chennai. While GT has shown a true character in the matches they played throughout the tournament. GT sits on top of the points table so they got another chance to the finals. They thrashed Mumbai Indians in Qualifier 2 to enter the finals. 

Subsequently, if today’s final gets washed out again, Gujarat Titans will be crowned as winners as they have more points than CSK. Everyone is assuming this to be Dhoni’s last IPL match so the supporters desperately want a game today. 

Both teams are a symbol of consistency, clarity and commitment which shines through their chosen playing XI. CSK and GT started this tournament at the same venue where GT won. In the second encounter as well, GT came on top of CSK at Wankhede as well. 

IPL 2023 final surely promises to be entertaining for all cricket lovers. Predicted playing XI is as follows:

Chennai Super Kings: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Devon Conway, Ajinkya Rahane, Ambati Rayudu, Shivam Dube, Moeen Ali, Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni (C), Deepak Chahar, Tushar Deshpande, Maheesh Theekshana

CSK Impact Subs: Mitchell Santner, Matheesha Pathirana, Shaik Rasheed, Akash Singh, Subhranshu Senapati

Gujarat Titans:  Shubman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha, Abhinav Manohar, Hardik Pandya (C), Vijay Shankar, David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, Mohit Sharma, Noor Ahmad, Mohammed Shami

GT Impact Subs: KS Bharat, Odean Smith, Sai Kishore, Shivam Mavi, Joshua Little