Bantval is an important constituency near Mangaluru and a stronghold for the BJP-RSS. The constituency lies towards the east of Mangaluru and has 2.2 lakh voters. In 2018, the Congress party has fielded B Ramanatha Rai against BJP’s Rajesh Naik, Balakrishna Poojary Panolibail of the Lok Awaz Dal, Shameer of All India Mahila Empowerment Party and Ibrahim Kailar being the independent.
Being a politically charges constituency, Bantval witnessed widespread violence last year in which an RSS worker and an SDPI worker lost their lives.

In 2013, Congress’ B Ramanatha Rai won the election after he received a total of 81,665 votes. He defeated Rajesh Naik Ulipady of the BJP who got 63,815 votes and Krishnappa Poojary Kalladka of the JDS who received 1,927 votes.

ALSO READ: Karnataka Assembly Election Results 2018 Live Updates: Counting of votes on 222 constituencies begin

Here are the live updates of Karnataka Assembly election results 2018:

2:30pm: BJP’s Rajesh Naik U won with 97802 votes

1:40pm: In last elections held in 2013, Congress had won the Bantval constituency with a margin of  17850 votes.

1:26pm: Rajesh Naik U is leading candidate in Bantval constituency by a margin of 15971 votes, counting in progress.

1:05pm: Congress’ B Ramanatharai is trailing behind BJP candidate Rajesh Naik U, who has got 97802 votes till now, counting underway.

12:44pm: BJP candidate Rajesh Naik U continues to be at the top with 89341 votes, counting underway. 

11:05am: BJP candidate is inching towards victory, counting underway. 

10:44am: Congress candidate B Ramanatharai is trailing behind BJP candidate Rajesh Naik U, who is maintaining healthy margin to lead the race in Bantval Assembly.

10:10am: BJP candidate Rajesh Naik U leading with 18125 votes. Congress candidate B Ramanatharai is trailing and has got 12249 votes, counting underway.

8:40am: Congress’ candidate B Ramanatharai is leading from Bantval constituency, counting underway.

Karnataka Assembly Election Results 2018 Live Updates:


For all the latest karnataka election results 2018 News, download NewsX App