Chikmagalur constituency is one of the most significant constituencies in Karnataka as it was the Lok Sabha seat that elected Indira Gandhi in a bypoll held in 1978. Despite that hoary Congress connection, the BJP’s Ramjanmabhoomi campaign booted the party out of power from there and since 2004, CT Ravi leads the mantle for the BJP in Chikmagalur. During the 2013 Karnataka Assembly elections, Ravi retained power by defeating Congress’ KS Shanthe Gowda by 11,000 votes. Apart from CT Ravi, BL Shankar contested elections in 2018 from Chikmagalur constituency for the third time and Harisha BH of Janata Dal Secular was another senior leader in fray. 

Here are the live updates of Chikmagalur constituency (Vidhana Soudha seat) in the Karnataka state Assembly elections 2018 

2: 22 pm- BJP’s C T Ravi wins with 70863 votes

1:04 pm- BJP’s C T Ravi leading over Congress’ B L Shankar with 23438 votes 

12:26 pm- BJP’s C T Ravi holds the lead, now Congress’ candidate trails  

12:16 pm- C T Ravi leads with 18511 votes, JD(S)’s B H Harisha trails  

11:41 am- BJP’s candidate widens margin, Now leading with 14477 votes 

11:30 am- C T Ravi leading with 12698 votes  

10:48 am- Now JD(S) trails behind BJP, C T Ravi still leading with a margin of 8114 votes

10:27 am- C T Ravi widens margin, leading over Congress’ candidate with 4041 votes, counting underway

9:50 am- C T Ravi is leading over Congress’ Shankar B L by 655 votes, counting underway 

8:10 am- BJP’s C T Ravi leads. In 2013 Ravi had retained power by defeating Congress’ KS Shanthe Gowda by 11,000 votes

Karnataka Assembly Election Results 2018 Live Updates

For all the latest karnataka election results 2018 News, download NewsX App