BJP leader and former chief minister of Karnataka Jagadish Shettar is contesting from Hubli Dharwad Central seat in Dharwad district for the sixth time. The BJP leader is competing against Congress’ Mahesh Nalawad. The BJP is said to be enjoying a majority in the constituency and are likely to keep it this way. BJP’s candidate Shettar, who is a lawyer turned politician belongs to the Lingayat community which is perceived to be a traditional vote bank for the BJP.

 The Congress candidate also belongs to the Lingayat community and supports the promises apart from Siddaramaiah seeking minority status from Lingayat community. Meanwhile, JD(S) has fielded Mallikarjun Koravi from this seat, who may change some equations.

Here are the LIVE UPDATES of Karnataka assembly elections 2018 Hubli Dharwad Central constituency: 

15: 00 pm— BJP leader Jagdish Shetter is heading towards a comfortable win, as per trends.  

14: 41 pm—BJP candidate Jagdish Shetter leading with 40479 votes in Hubli Dharwad district. 

13: 45 pm— Jagdish Shetter leading with 16194 votes.

11: 55 am— BJP candidate and former CM of Karnataka Jagdish Shetter is leading the vote tally with 8397 votes. 

10: 40 am— BJP candidate Jagdish Shetter leading with 8397 votes.

10:15 am— DR. MAHESH NALWAD trailing trends with 5223 votes.

10:00 am — BJP candidate Jagdish Shetter leading with 8397 votes.

9: 45 am— BJP holds the grip is Hubli Dharwad Central 

9: 30 am— JD (s) candidate Rajanna M. Koravi and Congress candidate Dr. Mahesh Nalwad trailing the charts. 

9: 15 am— BJP candidate Jagadish Shettar takes a lead.  

9: 00 am— JD(s) and BJP candidates are having a neck to neck fight in Hubli central, BJP ahead. 

8:45 am— BJP candidate Jagadish Shettar ahead now.

8: 30 am— JD (S) candidate Rajanna M. Koravi is leading.

8: 00 am— Counting of votes begins at Hubli Dharwad Central constituency.   

ALSO READ: Karnataka Assembly Election Results 2018 Live Updates

For all the latest karnataka election results 2018 News, download NewsX App