With a total of around 2,38,495 voters, Koppal constituency lies in Koppal district and Hyderabad region in the state. It has 1,19,164 male voters and 1,19,249 female voters and 15 others. In 2018, BJP has placed Amaresh Sanganna Karadi against KM Syed of the Janata Dal (Secular) and K Raghavendra Basavaraj of the Congress. The electorate sex ratio in the constituency is 100.02 and a literacy rate of 72%. On May 14, repolling was held in Koppal constituency after EVMs stopped working on May 12, when elections were held in the state.

In 2013 Karnataka elections, Congress’ K Raghavendra Basavaraj Hitnal won the seat against BJP’s Karadi Sanganna Amarappa and Pradeep Virupakshagouda of the JDS. Hitnal got a total of 81,062 votes while BJP candidate received 54,274 votes.

ALSO READ: Karnataka Assembly Election Results 2018 Live Updates: Counting of votes on 222 constituencies begin

Here are the live updates of Karnataka Assembly election results 2018:

2:20pm: Congress candidate won the seat with 98783 votes.

1:40pm: Congress’ candidate K Raghavendra Basavaraj Hitnal was the winner in 2013 Assembly elections from Koppal constituency with a margin of over 25,000 votes. 

1:15: Congress is heading towards comfortable victory in Koppal, counting still in progress. 

12:53am: Congress candidate K Raghavendra Basavaraj Hitnal has got 74567 votes till now, counting underway.

11:14am: BJP candidate is trailing behind Congress’ K Raghavendra Basavaraj Hitnal. Congress has got 42914 votes in Koppal constituency. 

10:10am: BJP candidate’s Amaresh Sanhanna Karadi votes have sharply mounted and the saffron party candidate has moved to No. 1 spot, but the fight is neck and neck as Congress candidate is giving him a tough fight with 16780 votes. Counting underway.

9:30am: BJP  Amaresh Sanganna Karadi candidate has got 4490 votes, counting underway. Intial results are suggesting that there is neck and neck fight between Congress and BJP candidate from Koppal constituency. 

9:00am: Initial trends suggest that Congress’ K Raghavendra Basavaraj Hitnal is leading from Koppal constituency with 4523 votes. 


Karnataka Assembly Election Results 2018 Live Updates:

For all the latest karnataka election results 2018 News, download NewsX App