Shimoga constituency is the district headquarters of Shimoga district that lies in the central part of Karnataka. The city lies on the banks of river Tunga. In Karnataka Assembly elections 2018, BJP’s KS Eswarappa of BJP, HN Niranjan of JD(S) and Prasanna Kumar of Congress are a few of the prominent candidates fighting from the Shimoga seat.

 Earlier in 2013, the total number of votes contested were 1,39,648. In 2013, KB Prasanna Kumar won the seat by getting 39,355 votes against S Rudregowda’s 39,077. Rudregowda belonged to Karnataka Janata Paksha (KJP) which later merged with the BJP.

Here are the live updates of Shimoga constituency:  

03: 30 pm— BJP candidate and former deputy CM KS Eshwarappa mark a WIN with 104027 votes.

02: 50 pm— As per trends, the BJP candidate is now far ahead with 102943 votes and closer to a comfortable victory.

01: 48 pm— KS Eshwarappa is leading the trends with 102943 votes.

01: 15 pm—Former deputy CM KS Eshwarappa is leading the trend by 97606 votes.   

12: 30 am— BJP leader KS Eshwarappa leads with 87104 votes

11: 25 am— BJP candidate KS Eshwarappa leading by 51729 votes, followed by Congress’ K.B. PRASANNA KUMAR 21526 votes.

10: 45 am— BJP candidate KS Eshwarappa leads with 35785 votes.

10: 15 am— BJP candidate ahead with 24104 votes.

10:00 am— BJP candidate KS ESHWARAPPA is leading the trends. 

9: 40 am— BJP candidate K.B. Ashok Naik trailing the trends  

9: 30 am— Sharada Puryanaik holds the lead in Shimoga

9:15 am— JD(s) leader is Sharada Puryanaik is ahead in neck and neck contest

9:00 am— Janata Dal (Secular) is holding the lead in trends of Shimoga 

8:45 am— JD(S) candidate Sharada Puryanaik is leading the trends

8: 30 am — Congress candidate Dr. Sreenivas Kariyanna is ahead in result trends 

8: 15 am— BJP candidate is leading the trends.

8: 00 am— Counting of votes begins at Shimoga constituency.

ALSO READ: Karnataka Assembly Election Results 2018 Live Updates

For all the latest karnataka election results 2018 News, download NewsX App