Karnataka elections: BJP announces second list of 23 candidates, 7 sitting MLA’s denied tickets

13 April, 2023 | Vaishali Sharma

bjp National

The BJP released its second list of 23 candidates for the Karnataka assembly elections on Wednesday.

The BJP released its second list of 23 candidates for the Karnataka assembly elections on Wednesday.

The official media handle of BJP took to Twitter and said, “The Central Election Committee of the BJP has decided the names of 23 candidates, in the second list, for the ensuing general elections to the legislative assembly of Karnataka”. A total of 7 sitting MLAs could not make it to the second list.

According to the list, Nagaraja Chabbi, who recently joined the BJP from the Congress, has been given the ticket for the Kalghatgi constituency.

Ashwini Sampangi, the daughter of former MLA Y Sampangi, will run from the Kolar gold fields (KGF).
NR Santosh, a close relative of former Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa, failed to make the second list. GV Basavaraju was elected to the Arsikere constituency.

Deepak Doddaiah has been given the ticket from the Mudigere constituency by the party. Mudigere Kumar Swamy, the sitting MLA, was not included in the list.

Gururaj Gantihole of the Byndoor constituency has been given the ticket by the BJP. He takes over for sitting MLA Sukumar Shetty, who did not receive the ticket.

According to the newly released list, Shivakumar received the ticket from Channagiri, which was Madal Virupakshappa’s seat. It should be noted that no one from Madal Virupakshappa’s family made the list.
Madal Virupakshappa’s family was recently involved in a corruption case, which resulted in a FIR and a Lokayukta raid.

The names of candidates for the 12 constituencies, which include Hubli Dharwad Central, Krishnaraja, Shivamogga, and Mahadevpura, have yet to be announced by the BJP.

Earlier, the BJP confirmed in a press conference that it had released the first list of candidates for 189 of the 224 seats up for grabs in the upcoming Karnataka Assembly elections. Karnataka assembly elections will be held in a single phase on May 10, with results expected on May 13.