Chhath Puja is a prominent festival celebrated in the North Indian state of Bihar and certain regions of Uttar Pradesh and Nepal also. According to the Hindu calendar, the rituals for the celebration kick-start from the 6th day — October 24. As per the Chhath Puja calendar, the festivities for the Chhath Puja will begin from October 24. On Day 1 of Chhath Puja, the devotees perform Nahay Khay. The festival is celebrated for 4 days continuously. The festival is observed to worship the Sun god and seek his blessings for the overall prosperity of the family.

During the festival, the people offer prayers to the Sun god, fast through the day and take dips into Ganga. Since the festival dates centuries and centuries back, the origin of Chhath Puja remains undefined. However, many believe that Chhath Puja dates all the way back to the time of Ramayana and Mahabharata.  On Chhath Puja, the devotees pray to the Sun god and wish for a longer life for their families.

Here is the Chhath Puja Calendar for the assistance of all devotes:

Day 1: Chaturthi — Nahay Khay

Sunrise at 06:27

Sunset at 17:43

On the first day of Chhath Puja, people dedicated it to holy bathing which is called the Nahay Khay. Some rivers where devotees perform holy bathing are Kosi, Karnali and Ganga.

Day 2: Panchami — Lohanda and Kharna

Sunrise at 06:28

Sunset at 17:42

The second day of Chhath Puja is meant for strict fasting. People fast for the entire day, without even drinking water. Devotees prepare special festival meals like kheer and arrange other food including fruits, rice.

Day 3: Shashthi — Chhath Puja, Sandhya Arghya

Sunrise at 06:29

Sunset at 17:41

The third day of Chhath Puja is called Sandhya Arghya. This is that time of the festival when devotees dip in the holy water and offer Arghya (Sun Bathing) along with their offering (include food items).

Day 4: Saptami — Usha Arghya, Parana Day

Sunrise at 06:29

Sunset at 17:40

On the fourth and final day of Chhath Puja, devotees visit the holy river in the early morning hours and offer their prayers to the Sun God called Usha Arghya. It is only after that, the devotees can break the fast.