Karnataka Polls: “Congress will come to power…” says Mallikarjun Kharge

10 May, 2023 | Vaishali Sharma

Fact-finding National

Congress national president Mallikarjun Kharge voted in Kalaburagi's Basava Nagar on Wednesday and predicted that the Congress would win a majority.

Congress national president Mallikarjun Kharge voted in Kalaburagi’s Basava Nagar on Wednesday and predicted that the Congress would win a majority.

“I’ve been voting at that polling booth for the last 55 years. Seeing the enthusiasm of the people, I feel that my party will come to power and we will win with the majority,” says Kharge. “Poor people live there and my principle is to give my vote to the poor, that is why I and my wife go there every time to give our vote,” Mallikarjun Kharge said.

Accompanied by his wife Radhabai Kharge, Congress national president cast his vote at a polling station in Basava Nagar at Kirti School.

Before heading to the polling station to cast his vote, Kharge said, “Congress party will win the election with a thumping majority…We will get more than 130-135 seats.”

Mallikarjun Kharge’s tweet earlier

Earlier in the day, Kharge took to Twitter to urge voters, especially first-time voters to come out and participate in the democratic process for a better future.

“People of Karnataka have decided to choose a progressive, transparent and welfare-oriented government. Today, it is time to vote in large numbers. We welcome our first-time voters to participate in this democratic process for a better future,” Kharge tweeted.

Congress leader KJ George also casts his vote and urged people to cast their votes, stating “It is the best way to participate in democracy.”

“We exercised our franchise. Have you done so yet? I urge everyone to do the appropriate thing. Go and cast your vote. It’s the best way to participate in democracy. Don’t lose your chance to be part of the change, the stability and progressive state we all wish to see. Vote to make #Karnataka strong!” George tweeted.

Among the early voters were Union Finance Minister Niramala Sitharaman, Karnataka Chief Minister Basavraj Bommai, State Minister K Sudhakar, and Congress state President DK Shivakumar.
According to the Election Commission of India, 37.25 percent of voters turned out until 1 p.m., with Udupi district having the highest turnout at 47.79 percent.

Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) Central had 29.41 percent voter turnout as of 1 p.m., while BBMP (North) had 29.90 percent.

BBMP (South) had 30.68 percent of the vote, Bagalkot had 40.87 percent, Bangalore Rural had 40.16 percent, Bangalore Urban had 31.54 percent, Belgaum had 37.48 percent, and Bellary had 39.74 percent as of 1 p.m.

Dakshina Kannada had 44.17 percent of the vote, Bijapur had 36.55 percent, Davanagere had 38.64 percent, Uttara Kannada had 42.43 percent, and Tumkur had 40.60 percent.

The high-voltage campaign for the May 10 Assembly elections in Karnataka ended on Monday, with all three major political parties in the state – the BJP, Congress, and JD(S) – having their final chance to woo voters.

Karnataka is holding elections for 224 assembly constituencies, with 2,615 candidates running. Polling is scheduled at 58,545 polling places, including auxiliary polling places.
42,48,028 new voters have registered to vote in the assembly elections.

Read Also : Oppn should look at their own tenure’, says Nirmala Sitharaman after casting her vote in K’taka

Follow us : Twitter