Wednesday, November 29, 2023

Meghalaya Assembly elections: NPP leading in 4 seats, UDP in 2

- Advertisement -

The ruling National People’s Party (NPP) in Meghalaya was leading in 4 out of the 59 Assembly constituencies while the United Democratic Party is leading in two seats, according to the latest trend shared by the Election Commission on Thursday. At 9:30 a.m., the Election Commission reported that the NPP’s Marthon J Sangma was leading from Mendipathar, while the Congress’ Timjim K. Momin was trailing. Jimmy D Sangma of the NPP was leading from Tikrikilla, while Timothy D. Shira of the NPP was leading from Resubelpara.

NPP’s Rakkam A. Sangma was also leading in Rongara Siju. According to the latest trends, Lahkmen Rymbui of the United Democratic Party was leading from Amlarem, and Pisu Marwein of the United Democratic Party was leading from Ranikor.

The counting began at 8 a.m. in all 13 centres. Initially, postal ballots will be counted for the first 30 minutes, followed by polled votes in EVM Control Units. Shillong has the most Counting Halls in the state, with one for each assembly constituency.

The West Garo Hills District Counting Centre serves 11 assembly constituencies and is the state’s second-largest counting centre. The Election Commission has deployed 27 Counting Observers, with over 500 micro observers assisting them at each table.

Meghalaya Chief Minister and National People’s Party (NPP) chief Conrad Sangma met Assam Chief Minister Dr Himanta Biswa Sarma in Guwahati on Tuesday night, ahead of the counting of votes for Meghalaya assembly elections.

Sarma, in particular, is the convenor of the North-East Democratic Alliance (NEDA).
According to an NPP source, both Chief Ministers attended a crucial meeting in a hotel in Guwahati that lasted half an hour. Following the meeting, the Chief Minister of Meghalaya returned to Tura in the West Garo Hills.

Earlier on Tuesday, Meghalaya CM hinted at forming a post-poll alliance to form the government. A counting Observer assists four counting assistants at each table. On Monday, Meghalaya had a voting percentage of more than 76%. 3,419 polling stations represented the state’s 59 Assembly constituencies.

Meghalaya has 60 Assembly constituencies, 36 of which are in the Khasi, Jaintia Hills region, and 24 in the Garo Hills region. However, polling for the Sohiong Assembly constituency was postponed following the demise of the state’s former Home Minister and United Democratic Party (UDP) candidate from the seat HDR Lyngdoh.

Latest news

Related news