Friday, December 1, 2023

Meghalaya, Nagaland vote in 1-Phased Polls today

- Advertisement -

Nagaland and Meghalaya voters are casting ballots under stringent security precautions. The seats of Erode East in Tamil Nadu, Lumla in Arunachal Pradesh, and Sagardighi in West Bengal were vacated following the deaths of Thirumahan Everaa, Jambey Tashi, and Subrata Saha, respectively.

Electorates in Nagaland and Meghalaya will vote in assembly elections on Monday, with topics ranging from separate state demands to corruption, among others. On Monday, polling will take place for assembly by-elections in Tamil Nadu, Arunachal Pradesh, West Bengal, and Jharkhand.

On Sunday, byelections were held for two assembly seats in Maharashtra, Chinchwad and Kasba Peth.

More than 1,300,000 people in Nagaland are eligible to vote to determine the electoral fate of 183 candidates running for 59 of 60 assembly seats. Kazheto Kinimi, a Bharatiya Janata Party candidate and sitting Legislator, won the Akuluto constituency in Zunheboto district unopposed.
The polls opened at 7 a.m. and will close at 4 p.m. across 2,291 polling sites, 196 of which will be overseen by women poll workers and 10 by individuals with disabilities.

Voting will take place in 59 of the 60 assembly seats in Meghalaya as well. Due to the death of one of the candidates, voting in the Sohiong constituency has been postponed. As the ruling National People’s Party (NPP) is striving to keep power in the state, the BJP and Trinamool Congress are attempting to depose the NPP.

Latest news

Related news