Wednesday, December 6, 2023

Pak Interior Minister Warns Imran Khan on PTI Rally

- Advertisement -

Pak Interior Minister Rana Sanaullah remarked in a statement to the media following his vote in the NA-108 by-election, “Imran Khan should submit an application if he wants to organise a lengthy march. No one is permitted to wander around with weapons under Section 144, yet I learned that the president of the Faisalabad District Bar was wandering in NA-108 with armed individuals, “based on information from the media. The minister added that while they may talk to Khan on certain terms, there would be no unconditional discussion.

According to media sources, Sanaullah said that it was unacceptable for anybody to enter and occupy Islamabad at any time.

During the “Azadi March,” the PTI chairman has instructed his party members to make sure that thousands of workers assemble in Islamabad. He hasn’t yet revealed a date for the long march, though.

If the PTI chooses to organise another lengthy march, it will be their second visit to Islamabad. On May 25, the last march took place, and when Khan arrived in Islamabad, he immediately called it off.

Imran Khan’s party also gained six seats in the National Assembly and two seats in the Punjab Assembly in byelections, dealing yet another significant blow to the coalition in power under Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif.

According to unofficial results, PTI, which was running in seven different constituencies, won the by-elections for six of the eight National Assembly seats up for grabs in Pakistan.

The PTI leader defeated the candidates of the ruling coalition to win the seats in Peshawar, Mardan, Charsadda, Faisalabad, and Nankana Sahib.

According to the media, the main opposition party increased its support in the nation’s largest province, where it governs in alliance with the Pakistan Muslim League Quaid (PML-Q), by winning two of the three Punjab Assembly seats up for grabs in the by-elections.

NA-22 Mardan-III, NA-24 Charsadda-II, NA-31 Peshawar-V, NA-108 Faisalabad-VIII, NA-118 Nankana Sahib-II, NA-157 Multan-IV, NA-237 Malir-II, and NA-239 Korangi were among the constituencies where voting took place.

After NA Speaker Raja Pervaiz Ashraf accepted the resignations of the PTI MNAs—nine on general seats and two on reserved seats for women—the lower house seats became vacant.

According to the media, by-elections were also held for the PP-241 Bahawalnagar-V, PP-209 Khanewal-VII, and PP-139 Sheikhupura-V Punjab Assembly seats.

Despite the tremendous political activity, the voting process — which began at 5 p.m. after the polls closed — went off without a hitch. Media sources reported sporadic skirmishes in a few seats.

Latest news

Related news