Monday, December 11, 2023

Nagaland MLAs to take part in assembly elections in face of poll boycott call

- Advertisement -

The Eastern Nagaland Lawmakers Union (ENLU), a forum of legislators from the state’s eastern districts, has opted to participate in the next assembly elections despite the Eastern Nagaland People’s Organisation’s call for a boycott (ENPO).

The prominent ENPO approved a resolution in August 2022 to refrain from voting in the 2023 assembly elections until the demand for the construction of an independent state, consisting of the six eastern Nagaland districts, is realised.

According to an ENLU press release, “In an emergency meeting held on January 22 pertaining to the ENPO resolution to abstain from 14th Nagaland assembly election, after a thorough deliberation the house resolved to participate in the upcoming general election since the election has been notified by the Election commission of India on 18th of January, 2023.”

The ENLU now has 20 lawmakers from seven tribes: Konyak, Chang, Khiamniungan, Tikhir, Sangtam, Yimkhiung, and Phom. While the Konyak Union (KU) announced in a press release that it will not be participating in the assembly elections.

The ENLU is managed by S Pangnyu Phom, Minister of Health and Family Welfare (H&FW), as Convenor, and CL John, Advisor for Land Resources Department (LRD), as Secretary.

Latest news

Related news