New Delhi: The union cabinet on Wednesday approved an energy agreement between India and Brazil, Russia, China and South Africa — members of the BRICS economic grouping.
The agreement encompasses joint scientific and technological research, conferencing and holding of lectures and seminars, capacity building and technology transfer, technology development, sharing policies and best practices and encouragement of use of energy efficient and energy saving approaches.
“Under the present MoU, the BRICS countries intend to examine the practicability of development of the comprehensive programme of cooperation in energy saving and energy efficiency promotion,” said an official statement.
It also includes specific common projects, applicable methods and instruments of energy saving promotion and energy efficiency increase in the BRICS economies.

For all the latest National News, download NewsX App