Chandigarh: The Haryana government on Thursday announced a compensation of Rs.20 lakh for each of the three BSF personnel from the state who died in the air crash near New Delhi’s Indira Gandhi International (IGI) airport on Tuesday.

“As per Haryana government’s policy, which provides financial assistance to family members of martyrs from defence and paramilitary forces, the chief minister (Manohar Lal Khattar) has announced to give Rs 20 lakh each to the next of kin of the deceased,” a spokesman of the chief minister’s office said here.

All 10 people on board the Border Security Force (BSF) Superking aircraft were killed when the small plane crashed just five minutes after taking off on its way to Ranchi. The victims included two pilots and BSF engineers and technicians.

Those from the state were co-pilot, Commandant Rajesh Sheoran, a resident of village Barwas in Bhiwani district, Inspector Satyanarayan Sharma, from village Dadam in Bhiwani and Sub Inspector Chote Lal Sharma, of village Koriawas in Mahendragarh district.

Khattar expressed deep shock and grief over the death of the BSF personnel.

For all the latest National News, download NewsX App