Mumbai: Railway Minister Suresh Prabhu was conferred the prestigious ‘SIES Sri Chandrasekharendra Saraswati National Eminence Award’ for outstanding leadership in public here on Friday evening.

The award has been instituted in memory of late 68th Sankaracharya of Kanchi Kamakoti Peetham Swami Chandrasekharendra Saraswati, who lived 100 years until his death in 1994, said South Indian Education Society (SIES) President V Shankar.

The other awardees this year include Atomic Energy Commission Chairman RK Sinha for Science and Technology, Aditya Birla Centre Chairperson Rajashree Birla for Community Leadership and international expert on Ayurveda, Yoga and Vedic Astrology David Frawley. Each award carries a cash prize of Rs 250,000, a large lamp and a scroll.

Some of the earlier recipients include two former presidents late Shankar Dayal Sharma and Bharat Ratna APJ Abdul Kalam, economist and diplomat Nani Palkhiwala, singer and Bharat Ratna MS Subbulakshmi, former prime minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee, Bollywood actor Dilip Kumar and playback singer Bharat Ratna awardee Lata Mangeshkar.

For all the latest National News, download NewsX App