2019 Lok Sabha elections Tamil Nadu, Puducherry: The Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) and the Congress have announced an alliance in Tamil Nadu ahead of the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. The DMK chief MK Stalin sealed the deal in Chennai and announced that the Congress would contest from 10 Lok Sabha seats — 9 in Tamil Nadu and 1 in Puducherry. The DMK made the announcement a day after the BJP and AIADMK struck a chord and announced that the two parties will contest the 2019 Lok Sabha elections together in Tamil Nadu, which has 39 seats, and Puducherry, which has 1 seat.

The Congress had expected to contest from 16 of the 40 Lok Sabha seats, however, the deal did not seem to please the DMK. The DMK is expected to contest from 20 Lok Sabha seats while the rest are expected to be handed over to its other seven allies including the CPM, CPI, Vaiko’s MDMK, Muslim League, Viduthalai Chiruthaikal Katchi, the Manithaneya Makkal Katchi and one Kongu party.

On Tuesday, rival parties BJP and AIADMK announced its alliance ahead of the 2019 Lok Sabha polls. It was announced that the AIADMK, the ruling party in Tamil Nadu, will contest the general elections on 25 seats while the BJP will contest 5 seats in Tamil Nadu and Puducherry. The announcement on the alliance was made by the Union Minister Piyush Goyal, Tamil Nadu Chief Minister E Palaniswami and Deputy CM O Panneerselvam in Chennai after having a brief meeting on the BJP-AIADMK alliance.