Jammu: Jammu and Kashmir Governor NN Vohra on Thursday ordered a major reshuffle in the state administration, transferring over two dozen senior IAS and state civil service officers.

The decision was taken at a meeting of the state advisory council (SAC) here under the chairmanship of the governor.

This was the first administrative shake-up by Vohra since he took over the reins of governance in the state following imposition of governor’s rule on January 8, a day after Chief Minister Mufti Muhammad Sayeed passed away.

Among the transfers and postings of over two dozen senior Indian Administrative Service (IAS) officers, Arun Kumar, director general institute of management and public administration, has been posted as chairman, Jammu and Kashmir Special Tribunal.

He replaces Pramod Kumar Jain, who now takes over as financial commissioner, revenue.

(Also Read: Hafiz Saeed praises Pampore terrorists; leads prayers)

Sandeep Kumar Nayak, principal secretary, relief and rehabilitation, will now be principal secretary, tourism, while Vinod Kaul will be the new commissioner/secretary, animal/sheep husbandry and science and technology.

Revenue Secretary Mohammad Afzal Bhat has been given additional charge as administrative secretary, relief and rehabilitation, while Anal Gupta has been recalled from central deputation.

Baseer Ahmed Khan has been transferred and posted as secretary, cooperatives department, while RK Bhagat will be the new secretary, transport and Hilal Ahmed Parray, the new commissioner, commercial taxes.

Kifayat Hussain Rizvi has been posted as the managing director, State Power Development Corporation.

Over a dozen Kashmir Administrative Service (KAS) officers have also been transferred and given key assignments in the governor’s administration.

For all the latest National News, download NewsX App